Congratulations to the following students on their achievements...

Maddy Rasmussen (Year 9 Heaslip) has been selected to compete in the Nationals in Perth, Saturday 18 to Saturday 25 November, due to her success in the Arafura marathon. 

Eddie Baroudi (Year 10 Kelly) has been selected for the 2017 Bachar Houli Academy Footy Camp.

Emily Green (Year 8 Heaslip) and her brother Jack (Year 3 Charter) submitted quilts for judging at the Royal Adelaide Show.  Jack received a second while Emily received a first place with a special mention, an excellent result.


Success in France!

James Phegan (Year 8 Forder) with his father Paul, recently travelled to Chateauroux, France to compete in the IPCS Handgun World Shoot XVIII. This world event had just over 1500 competitors vying for world champion over five divisions and teams categories. The main match runs over eight days to include a Top 10 Shoot Out and a Super Six competition. 

James, who was the Junior Production Team representative for Australia, and his father Paul , on the Australian production team, competed over six days, with 30 stages completed in quite warm and at times wet conditions. All stages had gravel rather than the usual sand to assist with water drainage, which made conditions more difficult when James had to slide to kneel or be prone to see the targets. The days were long, 7.30 am to 7.00 pm,  but James did well over the six days and kept his performance steady during the match. James came seventh overall in Production Junior Division against 16 and 17 year olds.

James qualified for the Production Junior Top 10 Shoot Out, which is when a single top 10 competitor competes against another to be the first to fell steel plates in an array and then the stop plate to win the round. James came third  which is a fantastic result given the age (and height) differences between himself and the other junior competitors.

James and Paul won the family team division to become World Champions in the Family Team category, a truly amazing achievement for James, who started shooting just under two years ago. Paul and James are the first Australians in Production Division to win a World Shoot Championship and James is the first Australian Junior in Production Division to win a World Championship. At the closing ceremony, James also received the coveted IPSC President’s medal for being the youngest competitor at the match.

James at 13 was the youngest competitor who qualified for the World Shoot and came away with a World Championship, a top three placing in the Shoot Out and a top 10 placing in Juniors. It certainly reflects all his hard work, training and dedication to his sport. James is now being sponsored by three companies and will join elite international teams to further develop in his sport. He has already started training for the next World Shoot in 2020 in Thailand.


The Balco Art Prize

 As part of the SALA Festival a number of Westminster School students exhibited work in the Balco Art Prize.  Judged by internationally acclaimed South Australian artist Marie Jonsson-Harrison, our students performed very well and took out a number of awards:

  • Alex Lam (Year 11 Fereday) and Minh (Anh) Nguyen (Year 10 Clark) tied for first place in the Senior Student Art Prize;
  • Lia Devetzidis (Year 10 Jeffries) received a Highly Commended in the Senior Student Art Prize; Kate Wildy (Year 11 Dunstan) received a Highly Commended in the Open Still Life Prize; Thomas Kelly (Year 11 Clark) received a Highly Commended in the Open Photographic Prize;
  • Paige Conway (Year 11 Jeffries) received a Highly Commended as an Open Novice Artist. 

Students who were awarded Certificates of Commendation are:

  • Samuel Blyzno (Year 9 Jeffries)
  • Bianca Facundo (Year 9 Carter) 
  • Nadia Henry (Year 11 Woollacott)
  • Noah Holland (Year 11 Jeffries)
  • Daniel Lai (Year 11 Wollacott)
  • Kia McFarlane (Year 11 Woollacott)
  • Makenzie Meaney (Year 10 Jeffries)
  • Amy Mohapatra (Year 9 Clark)
  • Joshua Ponniah (Year 9 Kelly)
  • Rianna Rawat (Year 9 Heaslip)
  • Oscar Williams (Year 9 Carter)

SA Volleyball Schools Cup

Earlier this term, in Week 2, 50 Westminster students participated in the South Australian Volleyball Schools Cup. The Year 10 Division 1 Boys and Girls' Teams, as well as the Year 11 Division 1 Boy's team, all finished fifth in their respective divisions. The Year 12 Boys' and Year 12 Girls' Division 1 Teams both finished the three day event with victories in their Grand Finals, with both Westminster teams beating out Brighton Secondary for Gold Medals. 

Year 12 Division 1 Boys' Team

Charlie Fuller (Year 12 Dunstan)
Brodie Eckert (Year 10 Carter)
Orlo Harrison (Year 12 Fricker)
Kyle Chenoweth (Year 11 Jeffries)
James Grimley (Year 11 Carter)
Jamie Brazier (Year 10 Forder)
Cooper Sharman (Year 11 Forder)
Loci Skinner (Year 10 Clark)
Yash Chandrasekaran (Year 12 Dunstan)
Max Davis (Year 11 Dunstan) 

Year 12 Division 1 Girls' Team

Isabella Triglau-Phillips (Year 11 Clark)
Maddison Simmons (Year 12 Kelly)
Ella Liptak (Year 12 Dunstan)
Bonita Hammond-Brown (Year 11 Jeffries)
Kate Wildy (Year 11 Dunstan)
Charlie Viles (Year 10 Fricker)
Jemma Metcalfe (Year 10 Fricker)
Jessica Johnson (Year 11 Kelly)
Jaidyn Jones (Year 11 Clark)
Carli Morton (Year 11 Fereday)

Brodie Eckert and Isabella Triglau-Phillips were also both selected as the Grand Final MVPs for their division.

50 km and 100 km Relay

50 km relay

Congratulations to our Year 9 team who finished second:

  • Kaine Baldwin (Forder)
  • Harvey Bock (Clark)
  • Nathaniel Drummond (Carter)
  • Ruby Liptak (Dunstan)
  • Zoe Smith (Kelly)
  • Pacers – Jack Forrest (Forder) and Caitlin Edwards (Fereday)

Congratulations to our Year 10 team who finished third:

  • Brodie Eckert (Carter)
  • Joel Dyer (Fricker)
  • Jamie Brazier (Forder)
  • Faith Pearson-McKenzie (Jeffries)
  • Mia Helyar (Forder)
  • Pacer – Tom Taplin (Jeffries)

Congratulations to our Open As who finished second, in a time of 3 hours and 11 minutes, 46 seconds:

  • Casey Buchanan (Year 11 Kelly)
  • Alex Higgins (Year 11 Forder)
  • Alex Reardon (Year 12 Forder)
  • Ella Kay (Year 10 Jeffries)
  • Sankkirtana Sellvakumaran (Year 12 Jeffries)

100 km Relay

Congratulations to our 100km Relay Team:

  • Joel Dyer
  • Jamie Brazier (ran his leg in a record time)
  • Faith Pearson-McKenzie (ran her leg in the fastest time)
  • Caitlin Dyer (broke the record for her leg, in a time of 1 hour 19 mins and 27 seconds)
  • Brodie Eckert

The Senior Team came third

  • Loci Skinner (Year 10 Clark)
  • Ruby Liptak
  • Sankkirtana Sellvakumaran
  • Tom Taplin
  • Alex Reardon (Year 12 Forder -  Leg leader)