Congratulations to the following students on their achievements...

Mattias McCarthy (Year 8 Jeffries) and Nikaiya Payne (Year 11 Heaslip) have been selected in to the SA team for the School Sport Australia Swimming Championships in Hobart in July (both in the multiclass section).

Olivia Buchanan (Year 9 Dunstan) competed for Westminster School at the State Dressage Championships. Olivia and her mount ‘Stormy’ managed 1st and 2nd in their section, making them Reserve Prelim Champions 2018 for the Under 21 age group. This is a significant achievement as Olivia is only 14 years old, and has only been riding Stormy for a year. A huge effort amongst experienced competitors.

At the National Little Athletics Championships held on the Gold Coast from Thursday 26 to Sunday 29 April 2018, Jessica McManus (Year 8 Jeffries) represented South Australia in two events. She achieved a four-second personal best in 800m, coming 8th, and another personal best in 1500m, coming 9th. Jessica also plays basketball for Sturt Sabres in U14 Girls Division 1, and was very excited to win the State Championships over the weekend. Her team has now qualified for two interstate carnivals, the Classics Tournament in Melbourne in June, and the National Club Championships in Victoria in September/ October.

Kiera Ross (Year 8 Clark) participated in the U13 Australian Little Athletics Championships. Kiera came 3rd and ran a personal best in the 1500m. Kiera was also selected as Captain to lead the SA team in Gold Coast. She has also been recently selected for the Basketball SA NITP Futures program.

The following students have recently been selected for state and/or national squads:

  • Lucy Austin (Year 11 Clark) - Australian 17 & Under Netball Squad and National Netball Tall Athlete Program
  • Georgia Kraft (Year 12 Kelly) - Australian 17 & Under Netball Squad
  • Kaine Baldwin (Year 10 Forder) - State Under 16 Football Squad
  • Jaden Grosser (Year 10 Carter) - State Under 16 Football Squad
  • Jack Forrest (Year 10 Forder) - State Under 16 Football Squad
  • Harvey Bock (Year 10 Clark) - State Under 16 Football Squad
  • Connor Drum (Year 11 Heaslip) - State Under 16 Football Squad
  • Hamish McRae (Year 11 Fereday) - State Under 16 Football Squad
  • Connor Blackwell (Year 10 Woollacott)  - State Under 15s Schoolboys’ Football Squad

Academic Awards – Year 8 Term 1 2018

Outstanding Attitude to Study

Shenae Gianni (Year 8 Woollacott)
Gracie Greenrod (Year 8 Fereday)
Harry Higgins (Year 8 Forder)
Harshal Higgins (Year 8 Forder)
Abbie Munt (Year 8 Kelly)
Airlie Rouvray (Year 8 Kelly)
Emma Wildy (Year 8 Dunstan)

Academic Award

William Bradley (Year 8 Jeffries)
Cameron Chau (Year 8 Fricker)
Jade Cross (Year 8 Clark)
Jack McKenzie (Year 8 Heaslip)
Ashlee Munt (Year 8 Kelly)
Phoenix Pereira (Year 8 Heaslip)
Timothy Ramey-Taylor (Year 8 Jeffries)
Joshua Smith (Year 8 Forder)
Anna Symonds (Year 8 Jeffries)
Michelle Vo Nguyen (Year 8 Dunstan)
Lilly Wiese (Year 8 Fricker)
Robert Zhou (Year 8 Heaslip)

Academic Excellence Awards

Imogen Beattie (Year 8 Heaslip)
Maria Demina (Year 8 Jeffries)
Hannah Gomez (Year 8 Carter)
Jessica McManus (Year 8 Jeffries)
Elliot Whitford (Year 8 Clark)

Maths Ninja Challenge

The Manga High Maths Challenge ran from Monday 26 February to Sunday 11 March. Students were tasked with completing a series of Mathematical challenges, with students successfully completing 30 challenges gaining a gold medal, 20 challenges for a silver medal and 10 challenges for a bronze. Students were also awarded certificates of merit. The following students were successful in gaining awards:

Lachlan Sims (Year 8 Forder) – Gold medal and certificate
Lucy Kelly (Year 8 Clark) – Silver medal and certificate
Maria Demina (Year 8 Jeffries) – Bronze medal and certificate
Isabella Frankel (Year 9 Heaslip) – Bronze medal and certificate
Alec Glynn (Year 10 Kelly) – Bronze medal and certificate
Allan Chen (Year 10 Fereday) – Certificate
Erin Kennealy (Year 8 Kelly) - Certificate